A Glimmer of Sunset in Alaska

Quiz:

The TravelBugster is out traveling on “The Romantic Road” this week. Anyone want to guess where in the world this is? Leave a comment and let me know if you can guess it? No Google, No cheating!

Daily Photo:

It had been cloudy, and the expectation of a sunset were pretty slim. But I waited, talking to a couple sitting on the cold, windy deck, trying to stay warm under some blankets from their room. As I was adjusting my camera for the sunset, right in front of me, in the water, a whale came up and spouted his spray, which reached all the way up to the deck I was on. I yelled to the couple, come check out the whale, but as quickly as it came, it was gone. I had a great view of it, but the couple didn’t. You can’t plan for these things, but it doesn’t hurt to be at the right place at the right time, at least waiting for something to happen. In my case a fleeting sunset. It wasn’t much, but it turned out to be an event worth going out for.

Click on Photo to Enlarge and see Entire Gallery

Alaskan Sunset on the Volendam
Dave Morgan-Creative Commons

Categories: Alaska, Cruiseships, Oceans | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “A Glimmer of Sunset in Alaska

  1. Ooooh, hopefully that doesn’t turn into a big storm! Rough seas = no fun on a ship!

  2. Such a cool photo! I remember when I first went whale watching, it was so amazing!

  3. wow! I love Alaska and this shot is gorgeus!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

