Red Covered Bridge in Lancaster County, Pa

We planned an extra couple days in Venice, but the town was booked solid. So we changed our plans and decided to fly into Philadelphia and surprise my sister who lives in York, Pa. The surprise was on us..she was in Atlantic City on vacation, so we changed our plans again. We spent the next few days exploring Lancaster County, Pa. What a beautiful place!

I’ve always loved the by-gone days of covered bridges. I would imagine driving a convertible Model A Ford through the covered bridges blowing the aooga horn as I went. I’m happy that many areas I’ve traveled from the extreme northwest to the New Englands, folks have tried to preserve this American heritage. As much as I’ve traveled, I don’t remember seeing these bridges in to many other countries. So to me, they are something special.

Covered Bridge, Lancaster County, Pa
Creative Commons-Dave Morgan

 

Categories: Covered Bridges, Pennsylvania | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Red Covered Bridge in Lancaster County, Pa

  1. I can’t place where this bridge is located but it is very typical of the style seen throughout Lancaster county. If you are ever here in the spring, head to Shenk’s Ferry for the wild flowers. It’s quite an adventure just finding the Preserve, but so worth the effort. : )

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

